The Road To Lean Muscle: Nutrition

Now that I’ve put my workout program out there, I figured it’s time I share with you my diet and how I’m approaching my nutrition.

During my bulking phase I would fluctuate anywhere between 3,500 and 4,000 calories per day.  As someone who is trying my workout program for the first time, you’ll be very tempted to consume…and consume…and consume some more.

My approach to leaning out has been to first target my caloric intake.  With the help of MyFitnessPal I’m at a steady 3,000 calories per day now.  With this, I plan to be at 210lbs in 2.5-3 months coming down from my current weight of 223lbs.

Here are my macros:

  1. Protein: 200g
  2. Carbs: 300g
  3. Fat: 100g

Now let’s compare this to my bulking macros:

  1. Protein: 180g
  2. Carbs: 400g
  3. Fat: 120g

The philosophy for my leaning out phase is simple: increase the protein intake and cut the carbs and fat intake.

Keep in mind that this is very experimental because I’ve never had to lean out before.  Prior to bulking, I was always lean and sat at a healthy 180lbs.

Moving on, let’s check out exactly what I’m eating.  Here’s my food diary for Thursday, September 29, 2016:

Breakfast:

  • 1 cup of cottage cheese
  • 1 cup of plain greek yogurt
  • 1 cup of quick oats
  • 2 sesame bagels with peanut butter

Lunch:

  • 2 breaded chicken cutlets
  • 1 cup of rice
  • 1 cup of green beans
  • 1 beef patty

Dinner:

  • 1 breaded chicken cutlet
  • 1 cup of rice
  • 1 cup of green beans

Many of you may be aware that a healthy diet usually consists of 5 smaller meals.  Most of the time I would agree, however, being in school limits me tremendously in terms of when I can and cannot eat and I refuse to eat in class.

If I end up with a diet more permanent I will certainly share that with you but for now this is generally what I’m eating.

Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

